How do You Fish for People?

The story of Jesus calling the first disciples (Luke 5:1-11) as told by Simon….

I’m a fisherman by trade. There’s been a lot of odd things happening lately. My mother-in-law got sick recently. We thought she was going to die but there was a healer wandering the countryside. He came in and healed her up real good. I’m not sure exactly what or how but it was pretty miraculous.

And then there’s the fish. We haven’t been catching much lately. I know they’re out there somewhere but they just weren’t finding their way into our nets. Now this healer I was telling you about? He was still in the neighbourhood last week. There seems to always be a crowd following him around. So the crowd followed him right up to the shore. It was too crowded so he asked to use my boat. We weren’t doing much on account of not catching any fish. So he got in the boat and we rowed him out a ways.

After he taught the people for a bit, he said to my mates and I, row out a bit more. So we did. Then he said to put the nets out. I thought to myself, what a waste of time that will be. But again, nothing to lose so out go the nets. I thought they’d sit empty for the next few hours—just like they did for the last few weeks. But suddenly there were fish everywhere. There were more than our nets could handle. The boat was swamped and I thought we might sink, there were so many fish.

I called to the next boat to come and help and the fish still overwhelmed both boats. I knew there were strange things going on and it seemed to have something to do with the healer they call Jesus. Why would this Jesus person help me out by healing my mother-in-law and then finding this huge catch of fish? Who am I to deserve this? And I told him so…Why waste these gifts on me?

His response was unexpected. He told me not to be afraid and that we would now catch people instead of fish. When we came to shore, we left the fish and the boats and walked away. The evidence of what this man could do was too compelling. I felt strangely drawn to him and to see where the adventure leads.

……

hope-sun

from: Miracles in the Mundane milagomama.wordpress.com/2016/03/30/create-hope/

I grew up being part of a United Church. I’ve always believed—at least intellectually that there is something beyond us—something beyond what I can see and touch and feel. That sense of being grounded in something bigger than myself has always been grounded in Christianity. As a child, I learned the stories of Christianity but the stories were just stories. They didn’t actually speak to me or tell me anything about the world in which I lived except that there was a God out there somewhere who was in control of everything.  But if God is in control, why do bad things happen? Why is there hatred and violence?

 

What has continued to shape my sense of call to Christianity and to ministry is the Hebrew prophets and the way in which Jesus grounded himself in these prophets. They lived in the midst of famine, war and exile. They lived amid great disparity in wealth. And yet they spoke of hope.

I imagine the fishermen waiting for days with no fish in their nets. I imagine Simon’s desperation when he has no money for medicine or healers for his mother-in-law. And then Jesus comes to town. He heals people. He offers a word of hope that things will not always be the way they are.

Just like the prophets…just like Jesus…we live in a time of great upheaval. We need hope which calls us to look beyond everyday life and see the bigger picture. I believe that part of what drew people to Jesus was that he gave them hope…hope that the world could be different…hope that the world could be turned upside down…hope that there could be an abundance where there was none previously. Jesus invites the first disciples to leave everything and come with him on a mission of hope. We see Jesus and his new disciples head off on their mission. They feed people. They challenge injustice. They heal people. They create a community in which hope for the future and hope for a world made new is what holds the community together. At the centre of this hope is a God who is bigger than anything they can imagine. Jesus renews the community’s hope in that God.

We are also called to be bearers of hope in a time of upheaval. The Hebrew prophets and Jesus point the way for us. Their message and the model teaches us to welcoming strangers, including people who are on the outside of the structure and to look after the most vulnerable. These tasks create a culture of hope in a world where there is much despair.

Jesus tells the disciples that they will catch people instead of fish. But what will they use to catch people? You can’t use nets like you would for fish. It is the hope that will catch them. How can you create hope in the life of one person you know? How can you help to create hope for a group of people who are marginalized or threatened?

One thought on “How do You Fish for People?

  1. This message really speaks to our Kapuskasing Community Church mission statement
    To trust in God, to serve others, and to be a voice of hope. Thanks Jen

Leave a Reply

